Colorado Association of School Boards

Member Access

Newsletter Signup

Click here to join the CASB newsletter

Federal Level Advocacy


At the federal level, CASB works with a Federal Relations Network (FRN)– school board members and superintendents from across the state – to present local school district priorities to Colorado’s congressional representatives.

The annual Federal Quick Reference Guide explains CASB’s position on hot-button issues such as the Elementary and Secondary Education Act, local control and unfunded mandates. The document is developed each year in January of each year by the FRN.

The National School Board Association also works to advocate on behalf of school board members. More information about that organization’s efforts is on its Advocacy and Legislation page.

Federal Relations Network Committee

The Colorado Federal Relations Network (FRN) reviews federal legislation and advocates the views of Colorado school boards to Congress. It is composed of two school board member from each of Colorado's Congressional districts. The FRN meets quarterly. If you are interested in serving on the FRN, please contact Jane Urschel.

Due to email SPAM problems, we can no longer link email addresses on our website. The emails in blue below are images, which require you to type the address into your email application. Thank you for your understanding!

2014 Members of the Federal Relations Network are:


Jim O'Brien
Cherry Creek Schools
(Congressional Dist. 6)


Congressional District 1

Happy Haynes
Denver Public Schools


Congressional District 2

Tom Balchak
Poudre R-1

Shelly Benford
Boulder Valley School District


Congressional District 3

Diane Fox
Montezuma-Cortez RE-1

Phillip Virden
Hinsdale County RE-1


Congressional District 4

Sean Ash
Weld RE-4

Doug Lidiak
Weld County 6


Congressional District 5

Jan Tanner
Colorado Springs D-11

Linda Van Matre
Academy 20


Congressional District 6

Jim O’Brien
Cherry Creek Schools

Cathy Wildman
Aurora Public Schools


Congressional District 7

Jill Fellman
Jefferson County Public Schools



Ken DeLay
CASB, Executive Director

Jane Urschel
CASB, Deputy Executive Director

Kathleen Sullivan
CASB, Chief Counsel

Dale McCall
Colorado BOCES

Paula Stephenson
Colorado Rural Schools Alliance

Lyndon Burnett
Legislative Resolutions Committee Chair
Agate 300


Council of School Board Attorneys

Pat Richardson
Academy 20